Skip to content

52 Hall of Fame Legends Expected to Return for Hall of Fame Weekend

July 5, 2011


52 Hall of Fame Legends Expected to Return to Cooperstown

for Hall of Fame Weekend, July 22-25

— Roberto Alomar, Bert Blyleven and Pat Gillick to be Inducted as Class of 2011

(COOPERSTOWN, NY) – The legends of the game are returning to the village where baseball’s legendary past comes to life every day.

But when more than four dozen Hall of Famers gather in Cooperstown for Hall of Fame Induction Weekend July 22-25, it will be the glorious present that draws the gaze of the baseball world.

As of July 5, an expected 52 Hall of Famers are scheduled to return to Cooperstown for Hall of Fame Weekend to welcome the three newest members. Roberto Alomar, Bert Blyleven and Pat Gillick – the men who were elected to the Hall of Fame last winter by the Baseball Writers’ Association of America and the Expansion Era Committee – will be enshrined on Sunday, July 24, as the Class of 2011.

On Saturday, July 23, the new Hall of Fame Awards Presentation will be held at 4:30 p.m. at Doubleday Field, where the returning Hall of Famers will gather on stage to honor the 2011 Award Winners. Longtime play-by-play announcer Dave Van Horne will receive the Ford C. Frick Award for major contributions to baseball broadcasting; Philadelphia Daily News national baseball columnist Bill Conlin will receive the J.G. Taylor Spink Award for meritorious contributions to baseball writing; and veteran baseball executive Roland Hemond will receive the Buck O’Neil Lifetime Achievement Award. Admission to both the July 23 Awards Presentation and the July 24 Induction Ceremony is free.

As of July 5, the Hall of Fame members expected to return to Cooperstown to honor the Class of 2011 include:

Henry Aaron Bobby Doerr Fergie Jenkins Phil Niekro Ozzie Smith
Luis Aparicio Dennis Eckersley Al Kaline Jim Palmer Bruce Sutter
Johnny Bench Rollie Fingers Ralph Kiner Tony Pérez Don Sutton
Yogi Berra Carlton Fisk Sandy Koufax Gaylord Perry Earl Weaver
Wade Boggs Whitey Ford Tommy Lasorda Jim Rice Billy Williams
George Brett Goose Gossage Juan Marichal Brooks Robinson Dick Williams
Lou Brock Tony Gwynn Bill Mazeroski Frank Robinson Dave Winfield
Jim Bunning Doug Harvey Willie Mays Ryne Sandberg Robin Yount
Rod Carew Rickey Henderson Paul Molitor Mike Schmidt
Orlando Cepeda Whitey Herzog Joe Morgan Red Schoendienst
Andre Dawson Reggie Jackson Eddie Murray Tom Seaver

The Induction Ceremony will be held on the grounds of the Clark Sports Center in Cooperstown starting at 1:30 p.m. EDT on July 24, unless severe weather forces the event cancellation. Seating is free and unlimited and the ceremony is expected to last around two hours. The Ceremony will be televised live on MLB Network, broadcast nationally on Sirius XM Radio Home Plate Channel 175 and will be available via a Web cast at

The Awards Presentation on Saturday, July 23 is free of charge and open to the public at Doubleday Field. Gates will open at 4 p.m. for the 4:30 p.m. program, which is expected to last an hour. Following the Awards Presentation, the Hall of Famers and Award winners will stage for the Parade of Legends, which will follow after the event, in a ride down Main Street in trucks provided by Ford Motor Company.

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum is open seven days a week year round, with the exception of Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day. The Museum observes summer hours of 9 a.m. until 9 p.m. from Memorial Day Weekend until the day before Labor Day. From Labor Day until Memorial Day Weekend, the Museum observes daily regular hours of 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. Ticket prices are $19.50 for adults (13 and over), $12 for seniors (65 and over) and for those holding current memberships in the VFW, Disabled American Veterans, American Legion and AMVets organizations, and $7 for juniors (ages 7-12). Members are always admitted free of charge and there is no charge for children 6 years of age or younger. For more information, visit our Web site at or call 888-HALL-OF-FAME (888-425-5633) or 607-547-7200.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: