Skip to content

Frick Award Fan Ballot Voting Begins Sept. 1

August 23, 2011

Frick Award Fan Ballot Voting Begins Sept. 1

Fan Participation Will Place Three Names on Final Ballot

Through Hall of Fame’s Facebook Page

(COOPERSTOWN, NY) – Thousands of baseball fans have already used Facebook to stay connected to their heroes at the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum. Once again this year, baseball fans can nominate their favorite broadcaster for the Hall of Fame’s prestigious Ford C. Frick Award throughout September.

Online voting for fan selections for the 2012 Frick Award ballot will begin at 10 a.m. ET on Thursday, Sept. 1 at the Hall of Fame’s Facebook site and will conclude at 5 p.m. ET on Sept. 30. The top three fan selections from votes tallied at the site during September will appear on the final 10-name ballot for the award. The 2012 Frick Award winner will be selected by a 20-member electorate, with the winner to be announced at baseball’s Winter Meetings in Dallas in December.

Presented annually since 1978 for excellence in baseball broadcasting, the Ford C. Frick Award is given to an active or retired broadcaster with a minimum of 10 years of continuous major league broadcast service with a ball club, network, or a combination of the two.

This year, fans will have the opportunity to select from a ballot of 75 eligible broadcasters, including a pair from each of the 30 big league markets as well as traditional fan-ballot favorites. Bios of each candidate will appear at Eligible candidates for the fan balloting will be announced on Aug. 29.

The final 2012 Frick Award ballot will feature 10 names, comprised of the top three fan selections along with seven other candidates to be determined by a Hall of Fame research team. The Frick electorate includes all living Award-winners and five historians/veteran media members appointed by the Hall of Fame.

The voting electorate consists of 20 members, featuring 2011 Ford C. Frick Award winner Dave Van Horne and the other 14 living Frick Award winners: Marty Brennaman, Jerry Coleman, Gene Elston, Joe Garagiola, Milo Hamilton, Jaime Jarrin, Tony Kubek, Denny Matthews, Jon Miller, Felo Ramirez, Vin Scully, Lon Simmons, Bob Uecker and Bob Wolff. The five historians and veteran media members also part of the electorate include: Bob Costas (NBC/MLB Network), Barry Horn (Dallas Morning News), Stan Isaacs (formerly of New York Newsday), Ted Patterson (historian) and Curt Smith (historian).

For the ninth consecutive year, fans will choose three members of the ballot through online voting. In 2011, Tom Cheek, Bill King and Jacques Doucet earned spots on the final Frick Award ballot via fan voting. Cheek paced all broadcasters in fan voting with 11,661 votes, King was second in the fan balloting with 4,758 votes and Doucet followed with 2,714 votes.

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum is open seven days a week year round, with the exception of Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s Day. The Museum observes summer hours of 9 a.m. until 9 p.m. from Memorial Day Weekend until the day before Labor Day. From Labor Day until Memorial Day Weekend, the Museum observes daily regular hours of 9 a.m. until 5 p.m. Ticket prices are $19.50 for adults (13 and over), $12 for seniors (65 and over) and for those holding current memberships in the VFW, Disabled American Veterans, American Legion and AMVets organizations, and $7 for juniors (ages 7-12). Members are always admitted free of charge and there is no charge for children 6 years of age or younger. For more information, visit our Web site at or call 888-HALL-OF-FAME (888-425-5633) or 607-547-7200.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: